Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches of Schiermonnikoog are never the same width because of the tides. For example, if you take a relaxing walk on the beach, it is useful to know when it is high or low tide.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Schiermonnikoog for the two following months.

December 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Tuesday 10 December
2:45 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
9:06 hrs
117 cm
 
 
15:00 hrs
 
-114 cm
 
21:36 hrs
112 cm
 
Wednesday 11 December
3:25 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
9:35 hrs
121 cm
 
 
15:45 hrs
 
-120 cm
 
22:16 hrs
119 cm
 
Thursday 12 December
4:06 hrs
 
-116 cm
 
10:25 hrs
123 cm
 
 
16:26 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
22:54 hrs
124 cm
 
Friday 13 December
4:55 hrs
 
-121 cm
 
11:10 hrs
122 cm
 
 
17:06 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
23:25 hrs
126 cm
 
Saturday 14 December
5:36 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
11:52 hrs
117 cm
 
 
17:46 hrs
 
-121 cm
Sunday 15 December
0:06 hrs
127 cm
 
 
6:16 hrs
 
-124 cm
 
12:36 hrs
111 cm
 
 
18:26 hrs
 
-118 cm
Monday 16 December
0:40 hrs
128 cm
 
 
6:56 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
13:15 hrs
105 cm
 
 
19:06 hrs
 
-114 cm
Tuesday 17 December
1:34 hrs
127 cm
 
 
7:40 hrs
 
-121 cm
 
14:05 hrs
98 cm
 
 
19:53 hrs
 
-109 cm
Wednesday 18 December
2:15 hrs
126 cm
 
 
8:36 hrs
 
-117 cm
 
15:06 hrs
91 cm
 
 
20:41 hrs
 
-104 cm
Thursday 19 December
3:11 hrs
123 cm
 
 
9:26 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
16:06 hrs
86 cm
 
 
21:40 hrs
 
-98 cm
Friday 20 December
4:05 hrs
119 cm
 
 
10:30 hrs
 
-110 cm
 
17:08 hrs
83 cm
 
 
22:55 hrs
 
-93 cm
Saturday 21 December
5:20 hrs
115 cm
 
 
11:36 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
18:15 hrs
85 cm
 
 
23:56 hrs
 
-94 cm
Sunday 22 December
6:29 hrs
114 cm
 
 
12:45 hrs
 
-111 cm
 
19:15 hrs
90 cm
 
Monday 23 December
1:06 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
7:38 hrs
115 cm
 
 
13:46 hrs
 
-115 cm
 
20:20 hrs
99 cm
 
Tuesday 24 December
2:16 hrs
 
-108 cm
 
8:46 hrs
117 cm
 
 
14:46 hrs
 
-117 cm
 
21:22 hrs
108 cm
 
Wednesday 25 December
3:16 hrs
 
-116 cm
 
9:30 hrs
118 cm
 
 
15:45 hrs
 
-119 cm
 
22:04 hrs
117 cm
 
Thursday 26 December
4:15 hrs
 
-122 cm
 
10:25 hrs
117 cm
 
 
16:35 hrs
 
-119 cm
 
22:35 hrs
123 cm
 
Friday 27 December
5:06 hrs
 
-125 cm
 
11:05 hrs
113 cm
 
 
17:24 hrs
 
-118 cm
 
23:26 hrs
128 cm
 
Saturday 28 December
5:50 hrs
 
-126 cm
 
11:55 hrs
107 cm
 
 
17:55 hrs
 
-118 cm
Sunday 29 December
0:06 hrs
129 cm
 
 
6:26 hrs
 
-124 cm
 
12:30 hrs
99 cm
 
 
18:26 hrs
 
-118 cm
Monday 30 December
0:35 hrs
128 cm
 
 
7:01 hrs
 
-121 cm
 
13:15 hrs
91 cm
 
 
19:00 hrs
 
-117 cm
Tuesday 31 December
1:15 hrs
124 cm
 
 
7:35 hrs
 
-115 cm
 
13:43 hrs
84 cm
 
 
19:30 hrs
 
-114 cm

January 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Wednesday 1 January
1:55 hrs
117 cm
 
 
8:06 hrs
 
-106 cm
 
14:14 hrs
76 cm
 
 
20:10 hrs
 
-107 cm
Thursday 2 January
2:35 hrs
111 cm
 
 
8:46 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
14:59 hrs
72 cm
 
 
20:46 hrs
 
-100 cm
Friday 3 January
3:09 hrs
105 cm
 
 
9:26 hrs
 
-92 cm
 
15:40 hrs
70 cm
 
 
21:30 hrs
 
-93 cm
Saturday 4 January
4:00 hrs
99 cm
 
 
10:16 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
16:38 hrs
68 cm
 
 
22:24 hrs
 
-85 cm
Sunday 5 January
4:59 hrs
94 cm
 
 
11:05 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
17:54 hrs
71 cm
 
 
23:25 hrs
 
-80 cm
Monday 6 January
6:05 hrs
94 cm
 
 
12:15 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
19:00 hrs
79 cm
 
Tuesday 7 January
0:46 hrs
 
-84 cm
 
7:18 hrs
98 cm
 
 
13:26 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
20:00 hrs
92 cm
 
Wednesday 8 January
1:50 hrs
 
-96 cm
 
8:15 hrs
106 cm
 
 
14:20 hrs
 
-110 cm
 
20:55 hrs
105 cm
 
Thursday 9 January
2:50 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
9:15 hrs
112 cm
 
 
15:16 hrs
 
-118 cm
 
21:46 hrs
115 cm
 
Friday 10 January
3:46 hrs
 
-118 cm
 
10:06 hrs
116 cm
 
 
16:00 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
22:25 hrs
123 cm
 
Saturday 11 January
4:36 hrs
 
-125 cm
 
10:54 hrs
116 cm
 
 
16:50 hrs
 
-125 cm
 
23:11 hrs
128 cm
 
Sunday 12 January
5:26 hrs
 
-130 cm
 
11:35 hrs
113 cm
 
 
17:36 hrs
 
-125 cm
 
23:52 hrs
131 cm
 
Monday 13 January
6:15 hrs
 
-134 cm
 
12:34 hrs
109 cm
 
 
18:21 hrs
 
-126 cm
Tuesday 14 January
0:36 hrs
134 cm
 
 
7:05 hrs
 
-136 cm
 
13:16 hrs
105 cm
 
 
19:06 hrs
 
-126 cm
Wednesday 15 January
1:23 hrs
135 cm
 
 
7:46 hrs
 
-137 cm
 
14:06 hrs
100 cm
 
 
19:51 hrs
 
-126 cm
Thursday 16 January
2:06 hrs
134 cm
 
 
8:36 hrs
 
-134 cm
 
14:50 hrs
95 cm
 
 
20:36 hrs
 
-123 cm
Friday 17 January
2:55 hrs
129 cm
 
 
9:18 hrs
 
-129 cm
 
15:46 hrs
88 cm
 
 
21:26 hrs
 
-117 cm
Saturday 18 January
3:45 hrs
121 cm
 
 
10:06 hrs
 
-120 cm
 
16:25 hrs
82 cm
 
 
22:20 hrs
 
-110 cm
Sunday 19 January
4:50 hrs
111 cm
 
 
11:05 hrs
 
-111 cm
 
17:27 hrs
79 cm
 
 
23:26 hrs
 
-103 cm
Monday 20 January
5:58 hrs
103 cm
 
 
12:06 hrs
 
-105 cm
 
18:45 hrs
82 cm
 
Tuesday 21 January
0:40 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
7:15 hrs
100 cm
 
 
13:14 hrs
 
-105 cm
 
19:55 hrs
91 cm
 
Wednesday 22 January
1:45 hrs
 
-108 cm
 
8:25 hrs
102 cm
 
 
14:26 hrs
 
-110 cm
 
20:55 hrs
103 cm
 
Thursday 23 January
2:57 hrs
 
-118 cm
 
9:25 hrs
105 cm
 
 
15:26 hrs
 
-116 cm
 
21:45 hrs
114 cm
 
Friday 24 January
4:05 hrs
 
-127 cm
 
10:15 hrs
105 cm
 
 
16:21 hrs
 
-121 cm
 
22:36 hrs
121 cm
 
Saturday 25 January
4:55 hrs
 
-131 cm
 
11:05 hrs
102 cm
 
 
17:05 hrs
 
-122 cm
 
23:11 hrs
125 cm
 
Sunday 26 January
5:36 hrs
 
-131 cm
 
11:45 hrs
97 cm
 
 
17:45 hrs
 
-122 cm
 
23:45 hrs
126 cm
 
Monday 27 January
6:10 hrs
 
-129 cm
 
12:15 hrs
92 cm
 
 
18:15 hrs
 
-124 cm
Tuesday 28 January
0:15 hrs
125 cm
 
 
6:45 hrs
 
-127 cm
 
12:50 hrs
88 cm
 
 
18:41 hrs
 
-127 cm
Wednesday 29 January
0:55 hrs
123 cm
 
 
7:12 hrs
 
-125 cm
 
13:15 hrs
86 cm
 
 
19:10 hrs
 
-128 cm
Thursday 30 January
1:25 hrs
119 cm
 
 
7:40 hrs
 
-121 cm
 
13:45 hrs
84 cm
 
 
19:45 hrs
 
-126 cm
Friday 31 January
1:55 hrs
114 cm
 
 
8:15 hrs
 
-116 cm
 
14:10 hrs
81 cm
 
 
20:16 hrs
 
-122 cm

February 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 1 February
2:31 hrs
107 cm
 
 
8:45 hrs
 
-112 cm
 
14:50 hrs
78 cm
 
 
20:50 hrs
 
-117 cm
Sunday 2 February
2:59 hrs
101 cm
 
 
9:25 hrs
 
-107 cm
 
15:24 hrs
76 cm
 
 
21:35 hrs
 
-109 cm
Monday 3 February
3:47 hrs
94 cm
 
 
10:10 hrs
 
-101 cm
 
16:08 hrs
73 cm
 
 
22:30 hrs
 
-99 cm
Tuesday 4 February
4:48 hrs
87 cm
 
 
11:14 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
17:23 hrs
72 cm
 
 
23:40 hrs
 
-92 cm
Wednesday 5 February
6:18 hrs
85 cm
 
 
12:30 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
19:18 hrs
81 cm
 
Thursday 6 February
1:04 hrs
 
-96 cm
 
7:45 hrs
92 cm
 
 
13:46 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
20:26 hrs
96 cm
 
Friday 7 February
2:20 hrs
 
-111 cm
 
8:45 hrs
101 cm
 
 
14:46 hrs
 
-115 cm
 
21:15 hrs
110 cm
 
Saturday 8 February
3:26 hrs
 
-124 cm
 
9:40 hrs
107 cm
 
 
15:46 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
22:05 hrs
120 cm
 
Sunday 9 February
4:20 hrs
 
-135 cm
 
10:41 hrs
110 cm
 
 
16:36 hrs
 
-129 cm
 
22:54 hrs
128 cm
 
Monday 10 February
5:16 hrs
 
-143 cm
 
11:30 hrs
111 cm
 
 
17:31 hrs
 
-135 cm
 
23:40 hrs
134 cm
 
Tuesday 11 February
6:07 hrs
 
-150 cm
 
12:16 hrs
110 cm
 
 
18:18 hrs
 
-141 cm

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide (HW) is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide (LW) in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Disclaimer

faqThis tidal information is only intended for recreational purposes, such as hiking and beach recreation. No guarantees are made about the correctness of this free tides data. You may not use this page if anyone or anything could come to harm as a result of using it (e.g. for navigational purposes).

Ebb and flow

Getijden

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Oosterschelde or Waddenzee, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go mudhiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.